Why Jussie Smollett of Empire’s Sexuality Confirmation Should Be Applauded


Lost in the obsession over blonde hair and an unsurprising racist video emergence, Jussie Smollett has finally confirmed his sexuality.

Recently the Empire actor and Columbia recording artist stopped by Ellen to discuss his role on the sensational Fox television show. After answering a myriad of typical questions, Jussie made it very clear that “there was never a closet” for him. In other words the actor reinforced the gay rumors that have surrounded him from the moment the show spotlighted his incredible talent.

Is Jussie’s sexuality a cause for concern?

Here is my two cents:

What I am about to write may be offensive for some and liberating for others.

Aside from the fact that the young man’s talent is enough and his sexuality should NOT be something he has to confirm with anyone; I applaud his bravery and think it is encouraging for not only members of the LGBT community but everyone.

We all have something that we consider a personal truth that may not be popular or even shunned by society. We should uphold every person who is willing to go against the grain and just BE themselves in high esteem.

Also, I don’t know if I was the only one who cried like a baby after watching the “put the boy in the trash can” scene but it unlocked so many memories.

I have a cousin who is close to my heart. He loved to play dress up. He wrapped himself in sheets and pretended he was in a fabulous gown. He put on his mother’s heels and obsessed over Brandy’s version of Cinderella starring the late great Whitney Houston.

He was also teased from as early as 6 years old. He would run to me and cry on my shoulder and of course it was my duty to find the culprit and beat them up. I rode in the back seat of cars holding his hand as his father called him everything but his beloved son.  I dried his tears as we both vented about how every male father figure who entered his life, including his biological father, chose his younger and more masculine brother over him.

After viewing the season 1 finale of Empire, my cousin took a stand and came out to his mother.

I could not be more proud.

The once guilt ridden, scared, and fractured boy has finally emerged into a man who is true to himself.  There is no more hiding for him. No more telling his big cousin to fight the bullies. No more questioning what is WRONG with him. No more accepting less because he was taught that he was less than. NO MORE.

He is now a strong, loving, kind, courageous man who has come into his own.

And for that my hat is off to Jordan Banks.

My hero.

Keep fighting to BE true to yourself no matter who hates it or loves it.

Leave a Reply

